jump to navigation

CAD Cafe @ 23 Haji Lane August 2, 2014

Posted by gurkhason in cafe, singapore.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

CAD Cafe 23 Haji LaneIt was quite some time back that I visited CAD Café with my friend.  It took us a little effort to locate the café that was in a small alley of Kampung Bahru District.  Cafés are plenty around the area, but they seem to be a little understated as compared to the Tiong Bahru café.  Check the list of café at the end of the entry.

CAD is a very small and cosy café with just two or three tables within the café interior but you can sit alfresco style outside.  Even so, tables are few.  But I like how the café is, serving some honest breakfast, sandwiches and meals.  The coffee is awesome, the kind which you know they took effort to make every cup of coffee to your satisfaction.  CAD stands for Coffee, Art & Design.  The founders of the café have background in Art & Design, with equal passion for coffee.  Expect to see art pieces from renowned international artist to local upcoming and student work.

CAD Cafe Interior

The café creates a relaxing atmosphere for you to enjoy your coffee and food while kicking back a little.  It is small, cosy and intimate and don’t be surprise someone strike a conversation with you.  It’s a really friendly little space I would say.

CAD Cafe Hot Chocolate

My friend had a hot chocolate that also came with a “chocolate art”.  How clever is that?  I love the rosetta design which is rather symmetrical.  Nowadays, I am disappointed when I just see a “heart” shape on my coffee because that is made rather effortless.  With new café sprouting out all over the island, I think the coffee art scene should up the ante.

CAD Cafe Latte

I was rewarded with a swan on my coffee.  Absolutely delighted to have my first swan.  Despite having so many coffees, it is really rare someone create the swan artwork.  Probably isn’t easy.  My latte was really good with a smooth and velvety texture to the milk.

CAD Cafe CAD Florentine

My friend had a CAD Florentine, with smoked salmon, baby spinach and poached egg sitting on a classic English muffin. The eggs were runny to my friend’s satisfaction and the tasty hollandaise sauce drenched the eggs.  I must say that the eggs were really well executed.

CAD Cafe Beef Sausage Omelette

The Beef Sausage Omelette reminds me of the omelette that I had as breakfast almost everyday when I was in Vietnam.  This omelette is served with spicy Brazilian beef sausage that is really quite spicy, together with sautéed red peppers and onions.  This healthy breakfast also come with a hearty portion of wild rocket, cherry tomatoes with wholegrain mustard dressing.  This is only served on weekends and public holidays.

CAD Cafe French Toast

My order is the CAD French Toast with brioche dipped with eggs and served with homemade fresh strawberry compote.   I am not very interested when it comes to brioche as they are too soft for my liking.  The strawberry compote was drizzled on the French toast making it a little too mushy.  The sweet and sour Strawberry also don’t quite agree with my palate.

CAD Cafe 23 Haji Lane Grafatti

CAD Café is a really interesting find.  The café is befitting the Haji Lane as you find many street art as you stroll along the street towards Beach Road.  I must say some of them are pretty awesome.  I am not sure if the street art graffiti changes regularly.  You will also noticed that there are some of these artwork just outside the CAD Café.

Around the area, you can also find a few cafés to hop to.  One of my favourite being Artistry.  You also have Tolido’s Espresso Nook, Symmetry and espressoLAB.  Check out Maison Ikkoku which I will be posting soon!

Meantime, enjoy your Sunday brunch!

CAD Café
23 Haji Lane
Singapore 189216
Email: 6284 0349
Opening Hours:
Tuesday – Wednesday: 8am to 10pm
Thursday – Friday: 8am to 12am
Saturday: 10am to 12am
Sunday & Public Holiday: 11am to 11.30pm
Closed on Mondays

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am also on Instagram and Twitter. Join me on my journey of discovery: travel adventures, culinary delights and all things fun in Singapore and abroad. There will never be a dull moment!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Comments»

1. Cammal aka Brown Boy - August 3, 2014

A good post. I always enjoy such cafés, feels so relaxed and welcomed.

2. Explore Singapore’s Culinary Palette in 2.5 hours! – GT Dollar - September 14, 2016
3. wedding gift list - October 22, 2017

Burlap cutlery holder

CAD Cafe @ 23 Haji Lane | Thoughts on Air

4. Natural attractions in singapore - December 16, 2017

estherrolland99.Joomla.com

CAD Cafe @ 23 Haji Lane | Thoughts on Air

5. shepherd hills cutlery specials - December 29, 2017

cutlery holder for dish drainer

CAD Cafe @ 23 Haji Lane | Thoughts on Air


Leave a comment