jump to navigation

The Lokal @ Neil Road (Tanjong Pagar) October 29, 2014

Posted by gurkhason in cafe, food, singapore.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

The Lokal Food Galore

The Lokal is not new to the local café scene, however it is still considered the new-kid-in-the-block.  I mean, if there are still people who stays in Pinnacle @ Duxton and not aware of its existence, it must still pretty new right?  I took an instant liking for this Aussie inspired café the first time I stepped in.  I like a café bright and cheery and it seems very welcoming and inviting.  Everyone seems happy being there and there’s a lot of vibrancy and energy.  That makes eating more pleasurable.  I am a firm believer that the atmosphere and ambience created is just as equally important as the food and beverage and service you can come to expect from a café or restaurant.

The Lokal Sald with Beetroot, Roasted Pumpkin, French Beans, Quinoa, Cranberries and Pumkin SeedsSalad with Roasted Pumpkins, Beetroot, Quinoa, Etc ($16)

I’m someone who likes salad, and particularly an artisanal one like above.  This is an awesome salad with lots going on:  roasted pumpkin, French beans, quinoa, cranberries, pumpkin seeds, beetroot with house vinaigrette.  I actually love the texture of the quinoa with the salad and the chunky cubes of beetroot.  This is one salad that I can eat everyday.  I was discussing this with my dining companion whether it will be queer to come to a café and have a coffee and salad.  The two just doesn’t seem to be quite complementary.  I would think it is better with a soda.  What would you have reckon?

The Lokal Breakfast Burger with Pork BellyBreakfast Burger with Pork Belly ($23)

I can’t resist ordering this burger with pork belly.  This is a very clever burger because what holds it together is a piece of very crispy and crunchy bacon!  The deep fried pork belly was pretty awesome and so is the scrambled egg sandwiching in between.  However I suppose they have to consider to source for new supplies for the buns as they were very dry and hard.

The Lokal Roast Chicken PaniniRoast Chicken Panini ($15)

My dining companion had the roast chicken panini with crispy pancetta, tomato, avocado, cos and aioli.  This is a very refreshing sandwich to have.  The Panini was really soft and chewy and if I don’t recall wrongly was served chilled.  However, my buddy complained that it should be served warm!  I don’t know I like it that way.  The roast chicken was juicy and tender and the whole sandwich just go so well together.  ALl thanks to my buddy I have half of the sandwich while also finishing up the pork belly burger (minus the bun of course!)

The Lokal Huge Bowl of Chunky FriesHuge Bowl of Chunky Fries ($8)

Quite frankly, I am not a fan of fries especially if they charge $8 for that huge bowl which between the two of us we couldn’t finish.  But we love variety and fries seems to be my buddy’s favourite. One major grouse is they don’t serve the “Maggi” style chilli-sauce, instead it is the home-made chilli sauce that look and taste more like tomato sauce.

The Lokal Latte

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coffee was well executed.  I love my cappuccino that comes with a marshmallow.  Sources that the beans are from Sarnies, who has a café outlet at Telok Ayer Street.  I guess no good beans can make good coffee without good barista.  I have been here several times, prior and after this lunch date and find consistency delivery of its coffee.  Free pour art is superb!

The Lokal Interior (Neil Road_Tanjong Pagar)

The Lokal is probably one of my favourite local café that has been happening recently.  Good food, good coffee and a great ambience to boot.  The service is impeccable too, with attentive staff that gives you refill of water in a nice crystal-plastic glass.  Although the location is not the easiest to get around, but I am sure serious coffee hopper won’t find the inconvenience a matter.

The Lokal
136 Neil Road
Singapore 088862
Tel: 6284 0349
Opening Hours:
Monday – Friday: 8am to 6pm
Saturday – Sunday: 9am to 4pm

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am also on Instagram and Twitter. Join me on my journey of discovery: travel adventures, culinary delights and all things fun in Singapore and abroad. There will never be a dull moment!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Comments»

1. dimshum - October 29, 2014

Love the photos! x and omg pork belly burger sounds so good !

2. annie - November 2, 2014

that panini looks absolutely delish and the portion is so huge!


Leave a Reply

