jump to navigation

Outback Steakhouse Now Sizzles @ Orchard Gateway July 31, 2014

Posted by gurkhason in food, media invite.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Outback Steakhouse New York Strip

Rewind back 14 years, that was in the year 2000 when Survivor, the popular survivor reality game shown first debut.  I was glued to the TV every Monday to catch the show.  Not only because the show was interesting, but it also incorporates a lot of lessons on leadership and team work.  I was doing a module of Leadership & Teambuilding and we dedicate about 30 minutes of the 3 hour seminar (class) discussing about individual character of the show, their strategy to win and how the teams work together to survive the game.  I digressed.  I remember Outback Steakhouse first set up around that time when “Outwit, Outplay and Outlast” was the keywords of Survivor show and the word Outback was more associated with Season 2 when it was named “The Australian Outback”.  This somehow stayed glued to my mind and I always associated Outback Steakhouse to Survivor reality TV.

Recently I went back to Outback Steakhouse for a media tasting session at their sizzling hot new outlet at Orchard Gateway.  Actually I was really expecting a “Outback” theme however the restaurant boast a contemporary look that is set to put diners in a relaxing mood for some jolly good time.

Outback Steakhouse Spinach Artichoke Dip

Spinach Artichoke Dip ($13.90)

As a start, we were serve tortilla corn chips with creamy and cheesy spinach artichoke dip.  I really enjoyed this dip with Monterey Jack and Parmesan cheese as we waited for our main course to arrive.  I can’t help myself for reaching out to more corn chips and the really awesome dip.

Outback Steakhouse Alice Springs Chicken

Alice Springs Chicken ($25.90)

Outback Steakhouse is not just about steaks, it does have a variety of choices of meat.  The Alice Spring Chicken is surprisingly one of my favourite with succulent and tender flame grilled chicken breast with sautéed mushrooms, crispy bacon and Monterey Jack cheese and Parmesan cheese which is melted as one.  Actually I almost couldn’t believe it was chicken breast as it was juicy and tender.  This is served with honey mustard sauce and Aussie fries.

Outback Steakhouse Tiloia with Pure Lump Crab MeatTilapia with Pure Lump Crab Meat ($27.90)

For those with seafood craving, indulge in a thick-cut tilapia fillet crowned with crab stuffing, sautéed mushrooms and another generous handful lump of crab meat.  It is then served with house-made lemon butter Chablis sauce.  This seafood is served with seasonal vegetables.

Outback Steakhouse New York StripNew York Strip ($36.90)

At a Steakhouse, naturally we have to try out their steak.  The choice meat was New York Strip.  All steaks here are dry-aged for 21 days.  Uncarved beef is delivered to the restaurants in loins, and the kitchen team then expertly divides and trims them to the desired cut.  I was actually a little disappointed with the beef strip as I felt it was a little too tough and dry for my liking.

Outback Steakhouse Pork ChopOutback Pork Chop

Ordering a Pork Chop at a Steakhouse may sound wrong, but I braved on because I really like a good pork chop.  I was happy to see the nicely marinated pork chops and it comes in 2 pieces!  I must say I enjoyed the pork chop thoroughly despite having so much meat already previously.  While I still unreservedly think the Alice Spring Chicken as my favourite main dish, however the Pork Chop comes a close second!

Outback Steakhouse Baby Back RibsBaby Back Ribs (half $19.90, full $32.90)

These baby back ribs are richly flavoured with a tangy home made barbeque sauce which is finger licking good.

Outback Steakhouse Baked Potatoes with Bacon BitsBaked Potatoes with Bacon Bits

Outback Steakhouse Side - Baked Sweet PotatoBaked Sweet Potatoes with Honey Butter and Cinnamon Sugar

Outback Steakhouse Whipped PotatoMashed Potatoes

All steak orders comes with two sides, from an extensive list of nine.  My favourite would be the Sweet Baked Potatoes with honey butter and cinnamon sugar.

Outback Steakhouse Strawberry Basil LemonadeStrawberry Basil Lemonade ($13.90)

Outback Steakhouse Watermelon MargaritaWatermelon Margarita ($14.90)

Outback Steakhouse MojitoMojito

Outback Steakhouse also have a cocktail bar and they are worthy of mention here.  I simply adore the strawberry basil lemonade which carries the fragrance and sweet notes from the basil.  The watermelon margarita is also rather refreshing and served in a sugar-rimmed glass.  It may be a little unfortunate they are located at level 4, otherwise they may be popular with a crowd if located at the ground level.

Outback Steakhouse Chocolate Thunder from Down UnderChocolate Thunder from Down Under ($14)

Outback Steakhouse Carrot CakeCarrot Cake ($9.90)

Finally it is dessert time!  I cannot remember when I have such a good carrot cake, it must be very very long ago.  The carrot cake has a rich creamy cream cheese and a very moist cake in between.  If only I am not so full from the tasting, I would have not hesitate to order one for my own.   The pecan brownie is served with vanilla ice-cream, warm chocolate sauce and whipped cream.  The brownie is soft, moist and warm and absolutely decadent!  You couldn’t imagine the sweet happiness I have experienced that render a sweet experience at Outback Steakhouse.

At time of publishing, Outback Steakhouse has a 20% discount for Citibank cardholders.  Complimentary soup and drink is available with a lunch entrée (priced from $12.90).

Outback Steakhouse is a SOLD OUT at the recent Groupon deal site.

Outback Steakhouse | Orchard Gateway
277 Orchard Road
#04-01 Orchard Gateway
Singapore 238858
Tel: 6702 6842
Opening Hours:
Open Daily
Monday – Sunday: 11.30am to 10.30pm

* * * * * * * *

Outback Steakhouse is also available at Millenia Walk, 9 Raffles Boulevard, #01-114 Tel: 6837-3242 Open Daily from 11.30am to 10.30pm.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am also on Instagram and Twitter. Join me on my journey of discovery: travel adventures, culinary delights and all things fun in Singapore and abroad. There will never be a dull moment!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Leave a comment