jump to navigation

Joyden Seafood 欣藝海鲜 @ West Coast Walk (Clementi) July 21, 2014

Posted by gurkhason in food, media invite.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Joyden Seafood Crab and Vermicelli Braised with Ginger and Spring Onion

Just last week, I was invited to the newly renovated Joyden Seafood (previously known as West Coast Seafood) which is located at West Coast Recreational Centre.  Although with a short ten years of history, the restaurant has many signature favourites that has definitely left a deep impression on me.  One interesting thing to note is that the experienced team of chefs that has been instrumental to the growth of the restaurant have been with the restaurant since its popularity ten years ago.  Unlike most restaurants where there is a Executive Chef, each of their chef have their individual speciality.  That is probably why each and every dish is very well executed.  This is probably one of the best Chinese meal I have in recent times.

Joyden Seafood Signature Cereal Prawn Profile

Joyden Seafood Signature Cereal Prawn

Signature Crispy Cereal Prawns 麦片香酥虾 ($22/$34/$46)

One of the signature dish that Joyden Seafood whips up for its customer for the past ten years is the crispy cereal prawns. What sets this cereal prawns apart from the rest is the use of kaffir leaves shredded into the cereal mix with chilli padi and some curry powder such that it has a distinctive curried cereal taste that set it apart from the competition.  Do you know that because the prawns are deep fried, so some people will advocate that we can chew the whole crustacean and it will be a calcium enriched dish.  But for big tiger prawns like this, I definitely have some reservations about swallowing it as a whole.

Joyden Seafood Steamed Lobster with Glutinous Treasure RiceSteamed Lobster with Glutinous Treasure Rice 围拢龙虾蒸糯米 (Market Price)

I am a traditional Chinese guy who loves a good glutinous rice.  The steamed lobster sits on a bed of glutinous rice that has bites of Chinese sausage and dried shrimps.  This is the most exquisite glutinous rice I have.  Steamed in a bamboo basket, the sweet succulent juice of the lobster is retained in the glutinous rice that gives it a special taste.  Although I enjoyed the glutinous rice, however it is a little too soggy for my liking.

Joyden Seafood Signature Cereal PrawnSignature Imperial Oyster Sauce Chicken香滑蚝油焖鸡 ($28)

One impressive signature dish is the oyster sauce chicken.  The whole chicken is stuffed with chives and garlic cloves then is roasted to infuse the flavours through the flesh and to crisp the chicken.  It is then braised for three hours in superior oyster sauce.  This chicken will surely be a hit with both the young and old.  The chicken is so tender that once you tear the meat, the bones will fall off.  The savoury sauce should not be wasted and is excellent to go with white rice.

Joyden Seafood  Lemongrass Pork Ribs with Crispy Yam Ring

Joyden Seafood  Lemongrass Pork Ribs with Crispy Yam Ring

Lemongrass Pork Ribs in Crispy Yam Ring 香茅排骨芋泥圏 ($25/$38)

This is another traditional dish that is loved by many, myself included.  The combination of lemongrass and pork is also a lethal combination that will surely satisfy me.  To make a good yam ring, it is important to use fresh ingredients and deep fried quickly so that it will be light and crispy.  When I bit on the pork ribs, I felt odd as the pork texture was like shrimp.  The use of lemongrass also make it feel like it is a seafood dish.  I particularly like the crispy yam ring that was very well executed and the fragrant lemongrass pork ribs that was finger licking good, except I wasn’t using my fingers.

Joyden Seafood Soon Hock Fish in Superior Soy Sauce with ScallionsSoon Hock Fish in Superior Soy Sauce with Scallions 油浸顺壳鱼

At Joyden Seafood, clients can have “live” picks such as Soon Hock, Tiger Grouper, Sea Bass, Promfret and more.  I had the Soon Hock Fish that is deep fried and drizzled with the lovely sauce that is thick and rich.  The fish is crispy and the meat is fleshy.  Soon Hock is actually the more premium variety of freshwater fish with a very delicate texture and juicy taste.  Although a lot of people like Soon Hock, but I am usually weary of the “muddy” taste from freshwater fish, however the fish I had is rid of the taste probably due to the deep frying and the superior sauce.

Joyden Seafood Joyden's Signature Creamy CrabJoyden’s Signature Creamy Crab 欣藝招牌奶皇蟹

The Joyden Signature Creamy Crab is cooked with milk and superior stock and pumpkin is added so that the milky stock has an added dimension and some texture.   I mopped up the creamy and velvety sauce with some fried mantou. 

Joyden Seafood Crab and Vermicelli Braised with Ginger and Spring Onion

Crab and Vermicelli Braised with Ginger and Spring Onion 姜葱螃蟹米粉

Quite frankly, I am not a fan of vermicelli with crabs because the first time I had vermicelli with crabs, I almost had the hard shell of the crab pierced my throat.  From then, I am always weary when I have this dish.  Despite that I still tried this vermicelli which is very well braised and so tasty I even had a second helping.  Needless to say, the crab was also very tasty and I love how sweet and tender the flesh is.  Comparing the two crabs I had, I actually prefer this Vermicelli Crabs!

Joyden Seafood Egg TartBaked Mini Egg  Custard Tarts ($3.60)

Joyden Seafood Mango PomeloSago and Pomelo with Mango Puree ($5)

What is better than the piping hot egg tarts that are fresh out from oven?  These mini petite egg tarts have a crispy exterior and creamy egg custard.  Joyden Seafood also serve dim sum from 11.30am to 2.30pm daily.  After tasting the egg tart, I feel confident that the rest of the dim sum will be just as good.  I heard the black bean pork ribs are fabulous so that’s definitely be one order I will place.  As for the sago and pomelo, I loved that it has chunks of the mango and how chilled the mango puree is without ice or ice shavings in it. 

Joyden Seafood is located at West Coast Recreation Centre; which is located beside the Clementi Stadium.  The restaurant do not have a prominent front, and can be access from the first level carpark.  However, this also mean that there is ample parking space available for its diners.   The restaurant is able to serve 160 pax in its main dining area and has 4 private rooms to cater for those who would like to more privacy. 

All the dishes I had at Joyden was really very good and I certainly will recommend my friends to come here for a good seafood treat!

Joyden Seafood
12 West Coast Walk
#01-11 West Coast Recreation Centre
Singapore 127157
Tel: 6779 5355
Opening Hours:
Lunch: 11.30am to 2.30pm
Dinner 5.30pm to 10pm
Dim Sum: (Daily), 11.30am to 2.30pm

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am also on Instagram and Twitter. Join me on my journey of discovery: travel adventures, culinary delights and all things fun in Singapore and abroad. There will never be a dull moment!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Comments»

1. rehabilitation counselor certification - October 6, 2014

The counseling abuse guidance gives its sufferers with therapy from trained professionals who’re
designated for particular therapy to people that have drug abuse issues.
These addictions are so common in modern society that common T.
Child sexual abuse means: a grown-up employing a
youngster for intimate purposes.


Leave a Reply

