jump to navigation

Jing Hua Restaurant 京华小吃 @ Neil Road (Duxton Hill) January 19, 2014

Posted by gurkhason in food.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Jing Hua Restaurant

Jing Hua Restaurant,; more affectionately known as Qun Zhong Eating House; is one of my favourite Chinese restaurant.  It is also one which was introduced by one of my very good friend and I miss going there with her.  While lunching with her one afternoon, I even bump into another very close friend of mine.  Now I go there with my BFF although her hubby thinks it is junk food.  Oh well, I thought there is a lot of vegetables in this mixed minced noodles with soya bean sauce 炸酱面 so it is rather healthy.  Maybe I am really wrong.

Jing Hua Restaurant Singapore

I was a little surprised when I got to Jing Hua Restaurant on a weekday for dinner around 7.15pm.  Usually it is quite crowded and have a queue forming by this time, but nothing of that sorts.  Oh!  The reason is because they have renovated and also expanded by having an addition shop space beside.  Seating capacity has definitely increased two folds.  Plus, they have an outlet that is at Bugis Village.  That is more convenient then the Neil Road location which is quite a walking distance from the MRT station.  The décor has certainly changed from the old and run down look to a more traditional classic Chinese look.  It is interesting, like having a palace inside the shop.  Love the bright and bloody red table. Very “ching chong” but very nice.

Jing Hua Restaurant Singapore Dumplings Pork Dumplings with Chives ($10)

Despite having eaten this pork dumplings for many times, but it was still a pleasant surprise to bite into this pork dumplings.  Maybe because it has been such a long time since I last visited.  It was so good!  The texture of the skin is smooth and yet you can taste some of the flour.  The ingredients are so fresh, not too fatty or oily and each dumpling has a generous portion of the filling.

Jing Hua Restaurant NoodlesZha Jiang  Noodles [ひき肉みそのせ] 炸酱面 ($5)

And the noodles I miss so much!  Love the process of stiring at the entire noodles with lots of fresh vegetables and minced meat with the soya sauce.  Actually the reason why I love their Zha Jiang Mian because I fondly remember the generous portion of crunchy cucumbers they used which is very refreshing.  I can’t tell what the green leafy vegetable is, probably the Chinese spinach.  I was a little disappointed with the texture of the noodles, which I don’t remember that it is so mushy like its overcooked.  But overall I think it is still quite pleasant because of the vegetables and I think they probably kept the prices because $5 is too reasonable price to pay and their noodles are better than those big franchised Chinese restaurants.

Jing Hua Restaurant Neil Road Singapore

Jing Hua have removed their Qun Zhong sign board.  I always wondered why it is named both Qun Zhong and Jing Hua.  What I always know is that this place attracts a lot of Japanese tourist patronising their outlet.  According to their website, it mentions that the shop was open in the 1980s by two Singaporeans.  The ingredients are locally sourced from the Chinatown wet market,; which if they still do; explains why it taste so fresh.  It is heartening to see a old traditional shop still stands at its current location serving old and new customers as the Duxton area has transformed a lot into a more chic and modern scene.  I would like to come here again and indulge in some old school nostalgia.  Maybe to bring my good friend back again when we meet up the next time and have a steamy Xiao Long Bao 小笼汤包.
.

Jing Hua Restaurant 京华小吃 | Neil Road
21/23 Neil Road
Singapore 088814
Tel: 6221 3060
Opening Hours:
Lunch:  11.30am to 3pm
Dinner: 5.30am to 9.30pm
Closed on Wednesday

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Jing Hua Restaurant is also available at
Jing Hua Restaurant 京华小吃 | Bugis Village.
159 Rochor Road
Bugis Village
Singapore 188434
Tel: 6337 7601
Monday to Friday: 11.30am to 3.30pm (lunch), 5.30am to 10pm (dinner)
Weekends and Public Holidays: 11.30am to 10pm

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am also on Instagram and Twitter. Join me on my journey of discovery: travel adventures, culinary delights and all things fun in Singapore and abroad. There will never be a dull moment!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

