jump to navigation

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) December 17, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, service.
Tags: , ,
trackback

After my last visit to Chili’s at Tanglin Mall, which was, shall I say, really memorable?  So I decided to visit another outlet to experience for myself if the service might be homogeneous throughout their different outlet.  After some heavy shopping for Christmas, I have decided to give myself a treat and head to Chili’s at Clarke Quay!

Chili's Clarke Quay Soup of the Day $5

I had the soup of the day.  You can either have it in a cup or on a bowl.  Cup at $5 ($4 if you have it with an entrée) and Bowl is at $9.  Although I ordered a cup but I kind get a bowl, but half the size.  (Or is that considered a cup?).  Anyway, was quite delighted that it came with the chips.  I love it!

Chili's Clarke Quay Southern Smokehouse Bacon Big Mouth BurgerSouthern Smokehouse Bacon Big Mouth Burger ($26)

After missing it Big Mouth Burger for a while, I have decided on this huge burger order.  There is no way I can fit that burger in my mouth so I had to disassembly it and reconstruct on my own to eat it  I like the extra thick cut bacon which is chilli rubbed with brown sugar.  Other than the crispy taste, the sugar and chilli taste like a rather unique combination.    I thought it may be better if they could use with more mayonnaise as the beef patty is rather dry.  The shredded lettuce also keeps falling off, something which always happens when I eat the Big Mac or McChicken!

Actually the food at Chili’s really bordering at average.  But its quite interesting how their service is.  I felt that as I stepped into the restaurant, the service staff was really warm and courteous and was smiling.  They left myself to browse the menu slowly before taking my order, which was nice.  But 2 things went wrong.

After I finished my soup, the service staff asked “is there anything else I can get for you?”.  I couldn’t quite understand what he means and just in case I missed something I asked him to repeat.  When I said I am fine, he cleared my bowl and took away the cutleries.  So when my burger came, I was without the cutleries.  And best part is just as I told the person I don’t have the cutleries, he came with the bill.  I guess he must have thought I concluded the meal with just a soup.

The second part could be a confusion.  The final bill that came was $32.10 so I used $30 vouchers I had to pay and gave a $50 note to foot the $2.10 (I had no small change).  When the service staff returned with the final bill, I saw they offset the whole amount $30 without charging the GST.  But my $50 note was not with the check.  So when I asked for my change, she look bewildered.  Only after explaining that I had given the $50 for the $2.10 then she asked the guy who passed me the bill for that $50.  I was wondering if he might have thought I left that as a tip?

Oh, have I mentioned before that Chili’s does not charge any service charge on its bill?  I think it may be fair for patrons to actually leave some tip in case it is what the service staff come to expect of it.  However, we really do not have a tipping culture in Singapore.  I don’t think it is expressedly stated in their menu as well.  I hope the staff are not short-changed as a result of the restaurant policy.  On the same note, I also thought it might be better for their to improve on their service delivery as well.  Two strange incidents on two separate visit can be a little hard for me to chew on.

I would be happy to go to Chili’s again to see if I might encounter anything interesting again!  Do check back the blog for more!

Chili’s Grill & Bar | Central @ Clarke Quay
6 Eu Tong Sen Street
#01-18 The Central
Singapore 059817
Tel: +65 6225 1687
Opening hours:
Sunday to Tuesday: 11.30am to 10pm
Wednesday to Thursday:  11.30am to 11pm
Friday to Saturday: 11.30am to 12am

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I am also on Instagram and Twitter. Join me on my journey of discovery: travel adventures, culinary delights and all things fun in Singapore and abroad. There will never be a dull moment!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Comments»

1. Eggs & Berries @ Westgate Mall (Jurong) | Thoughts on Air - January 31, 2014

[…] the buns are a little too hard for my liking, otherwise this is a just as good a burger compared to Chilis Big Mouth Burger, in my humble opinion.  I like the green salad of mozzarella, tomatoes, onions and aged […]

2. body mass index - March 17, 2015

Hi to all, the contents present at this site are genuinely amazing
for people experience, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

3. find out this here - July 20, 2015

find out this here

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

4. Read the Full Posting - October 16, 2015

Read the Full Posting

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

5. moved here - October 25, 2015

moved here

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

6. their website - October 25, 2015

their website

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

7. read full article - October 25, 2015

read full article

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

8. click the next web page - October 27, 2015

click the next web page

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

9. love it - November 5, 2015

love it

Chili’s Grill & Bar @ The Central (Clarke Quay) | Thoughts on Air

10. thinkaboutsearch.com - November 29, 2015

The jobseeker is then expected to upload his resume on the job search engine
once he has selected a job post or opening of a specific company.
That’s not all you can do with the data, by putting bits and
pieces together of your search history, they can build an individual profile, which is getting easier to do today.
The amount that has to be paid is included only in the search ads.


Leave a Reply

