jump to navigation

Grand Hyatt Singapore Mooncakes September 11, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, Review.
Tags:
trackback

Grand Hyatt Singapore Mooncake Box 2013

In my humble opinion, this year prettiest moon cake box probably goes to Grand Hyatt Singapore.  I am not boasting just because I had these mooncakes for free, but felt genuinely the case when I visited the annual mooncake fair at Takashimaya at Ngee Ann City.  Nevermind the moon cakes inside, I am just happy to have this royal blue acrylic-top box.  I was particularly impressed how high polish the surface it.   I must have mentioned it before that the packaging of the moon cake is just as important as the mooncake itself because if you spend $60 on some mooncakes as gift, the box better look damn pretty.

Grand Hyatt Singapore Mooncakes Baked SkinSesame Lotus Single Yolk with Bamboo Ash

It is mooncake overload season!  This box of traditional baked skin mooncake sport two flavours:  the black one being sesame lotus with bamboo ash.  The lotus paste being rather smooth and peppered with lots of seasame seeds.  The single yolk is large and complemented the richly flavoured lotus paste.

Also worth highlighting how posh the packaging looks.  I am certainly keeping this mooncake box to keep my trinklets.  I already have 6 of my favourites to date!

Grand Hyatt Singapore Baked Skin MooncakeWhite Lotus Double Yolk with Roasted Melon Seed

The elegant packaging and the traditional baked skin moon cake.  I like how defined the mould is so that the chinese characters of the mooncake becomes very distinct.  I prefer the traditional baked skin and love it with the melon seed as it provides for extra crunch.  The chinese characters “Jun Yue”, I don’t know what it means but if I can translate it, it means “the gentlement is pleased”.  I am indeed.

Prices:
4 large traditional mooncakes: $60-$62
8 miniature snow-skin mooncakes: $62

For the full brochure of the Grand Hyatt Singapore offering, you can click HERE to find out.

Grand Hyatt Singapore
10 Scotts Road
Tel: +65 6887 5492
Daily: 11am – 11pm

[Note] The author gurkhason would like to thank her colleague J. Low for being the headless model above.  Thank you J. Low.

Comments»

1. bernard - September 18, 2013

君悦- grand Hyatt =)


Leave a Reply

