jump to navigation

Penang Culture @ Century Square, Tampines September 10, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Penang Culture is a Halal restaurant that serves some local hawker fare, with a particular Penang flavour. My colleagues and I frequent Penang Culture rather often when we don’t want to fight the crowd and yet doesn’t want to burn a hole in the pocket eating in a restaurant. When we went to Penang Culture few days ago, we were pleasant delighted to know that it does not add any more service charge to its bill. That means we save 10% off.

Penang Culture Prawn NoodlesPrawn Noodle ($7.65)

The most popular order is the prawn noodles. Three of us had this order. There is fishcake, whole egg (hardboiled), 2 prawns and some chicken slices in our bowl of noodle, that is Penang Culture being a Halal restaurant therefore it doesn’t serve pork. The broth was flavourful and adding the chilli enhances the taste of the soup. Just want to say the prawn does not taste fresh at all. I wonder how it happened as many of their menu items should use prawns as ingredients.

I was just talking to my brother-in-law and reminiscing of my trip to Penang many years back. I agreed with him that a lot of Penang food taste much better because they are stronger in taste. While two other of my colleagues were digging in our noodles, we do agree that this prawn noodle taste good but can be better. We can think of several places which serves just as good, or maybe even better prawn noodles. Particularly the name that surface is the Beach Road Prawn Noodles along East Coast Road. Makes me want to go there for a hot soupy prawn noodles. Check back my blog for my review, I promise it will be soon!

Penang Culture Crayfish Prawn NoodlesCrayfish Noodle ($12.65)

My colleague who is more extravagant in living ordered the more expensive crayfish noodle. In it is a petite size crayfish in addition to the prawn noodles serving we have. But that cost a whopping $5 more. Does a crayfish actually cost that much? For your information again, my colleague commented that the crayfish didn’t taste fresh.

Penang Culture Nasi LemaksNasi Lemak ($7.65)

The nasi lemak is short of the usual achar. Upon me asking if they will replace the achar with something else, the cashier who took my order said she don’t know. I was a little baffled by her response, to which she say “I just work here”. Hmm, guess that’s why I am not being charged service charge? Anyway we do get more peanut and ikan bilis. I hope my colleague who ordered did not feel short changed.

Penang Culture BeveragesBandung with Chin Chow ($3.95) & Fresh Coconut ($4)

Cannot comment much about the beverages as I didn’t have them. The bandung with chin chow looks refreshing. I guess the fresh coconut should taste fresh enough because my client didn’t complain about its freshness.

Some of my recent experience at local eateries seems to be letting down in terms of their standard. Grandma’s at Changi City Point did not have their fragrant lunch ready so served us plain white rice instead. Chili’s at Tanglin Mall has alarming service staff at their restaurant. And this encounter at Penang Culture was also a tad disappointing.

Oh, although they don’t charge the 10% service charge, must remind you that they still add a 7% GST to the final bill.

If you don’t mind mediocre food and service in exchange for a no hassle lunch Penang Culture bloeh lah.

Penang Culture |Century Square
2 Tampines Central 5
#04-11/12 Century Square
Singapore 529509
Tel: +65 6789 8180
Opening hours:
Open Daily: 11.00 am to 10.00 pm
(Last order at 9.30pm)

Penang Culture is also available at Changi Airport Terminal 2 Departure

Comments»

1. JOCELYN❄임패민 (@Jorimu) - December 3, 2013

Try Penang laska next time! It’s in my Top 5 list! Haha


Leave a Reply

