jump to navigation

KL Edition: Madam Kwan @ Suria KLCC September 3, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in cafe, food, travel.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Madam Kwan Suria KLCC

Madam Kwan has opened in Singapore with much fanfare at Vivocity.  Being crowned the Malaysia’s best Nasi Lemak is really something because we are not talking about a small country like Singapore, Malaysia is a big country with 13 states and two federations. Plus Nasi Lemak, as the name suggest is more of a Malay dish but Madam top all to achieve this accolade from Ministry of Malaysia Tourism.

Today my blog will first review the original Madam Kwan from Kuala Lumpur Malaysia.  I was all excited to experience how it taste in Malaysia first, and hopefully one day to dine at Madam Kwan outlet at Vivocity in Singapore.

Madam Kwan Nasi BojariNasi Bojari (MYR 23.90)

I cannot help but to compare Madam Kwan rendition of Nasi Bojari with Grandma’s version.  When I say Grandma, I don’t refer to my grandmother’s cooking but rather the chain of outlet selling nasi lemak and other Asian bites.  Madam Kwan served a tri-colored rice and served with beef rendang (braised beef with spices), assam prawns and deep fried chicken drumsticks.  My friend had this but he let me tried some of the chicken and beef.  The chicken drumstick is very crispy on the outside while still retain the juices inside.  I love the beef rendang too which is so well cooked that you don’t need that much effort to actually chew on the beef.  Overall, I think I may prefer this to Grandma’s version.  (Maybe that is also because I had the normal steamed white rice at Grandma in my most recent visit)

Madam Kwan Otak Otak

Otak Otak (MYR 19.50)

I really wanted to try the otak otak to see what’s so special about it when I first saw it on Daniel’s blog.  I can’t really imagine myself paying $15.90 to pay for the otak in Singapore.  When it was served, I was more disappointed because it does not look as thick as what I saw in Daniel’s blog and it seems to be quite dry too.  You can see it is actually charred at the corner.  Even at the price in ringgit, I thought it is quite exorbitant.  I much prefer the otak which I can have from the BBQ Chicken Wing store at Fengshan (Bedok) 85 market.

Madam Kwan Nasi LemakNasi Lemak (MYR 16.90)

Of course I ordered the award winning Nasi Lemak!  The very reason why I was in Kuala Lumpur in the first place!  This award winning Nasi Lemak is served with a small dish of achar (preserved radish, cucumber and carrots and crushed peanuts) which is very appetising.  Again, the coconut steamed rice is mildly fragant.  There is plenty of “lemak” or curry gravy which is spicy but very shiok!  I wish I have more of the rice so that I can mop up all the lemak there is in the dish.  The dried shrimp floss is very interesting and added a special dimension to the curry,  I really enjoyed this Nasi Lemak and it is no wonder it is the Nasi Lemak winner in Malaysia.

Madam Kwan KLCC Store

Madam Kwan Store

I like the checkered black and white tiles of Madam Kwan in Malaysia.  It just feels very retro to have this kind of tiles.  The restaurant in Suria KLCC attracts a very strong crowd during the weekend lunch while I was there.   The waiting time for a table is about 25-40 minutes.   I really appreciate my friend who waited patiently for so long so that I can bring this post to you, even though our tummy was already growling nosily and other restaurants do not have a waiting line.  \Well, that goes to show how Madam Kwan is still so popular in Malaysia.

As mentioned, I would really want to try out the Madam Kwan at Vivocity to compare how it fare here.  Must I miss out other interesting things to order – like the fish head curry which seems to be a popular item there.   Who’s going with me?

Madam Kwan Restuarant | Kuala Lumpur
Suria KLCC, Level 4, 420-421
Kuala Lumpur City Centre
50088 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel: +60 03-2026 2297/8
Opening Hours:
Daily: 10am to 10pm
Related Post:
Grandma’s Restaurant @ Changi City Point
KL Edition:  Le Meridien Hotel @ Kuala Lumpur
Comments»

1. DanielFoodDiary - September 4, 2013

Oh the otak does look very flat! You can check with SgFoodOnFoot & REatRGrow, I know they are going to try the curry fishhead 🙂

2. Alien Isolation Patch fr - September 30, 2014

What’s up to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are pleasant designed for new visitors.


Leave a Reply

