jump to navigation

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice 剪刀咖喱饭 @ Jalan Besar August 17, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice

Recently I keep having craving for curry rice, particularly the one at Jalan Besar. If you think of this as any ordinary white rice with curry gravy on top, you are very mistaken. The starchy and gluey curry of Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice is so awesome that many people throng from all corners of Singapore to savour this unique and distinctive flavor. Not Indian, not Japanese and not the typical Chinese variety. The curry is spicy-sweet and very satisfying. I can have heaps of rice just with the curry and I am not kidding, but I practice restraint. When age catch up, I cannot eat like a teenager!

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Black PorkBlack Pork Chop

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Ngoh HiongNgoh Hiong (Meat Rolls)

The key highlights for the store are their pork and chicken chop as well as their braised black pork or pork belly. Their fried versions are limited everyday and get sold out fast! The very uninviting looking black pork above, is scissor cut to small bite size, hence the “scissor-cut” in its store name. Being quite a pork lover myself, I would say it is an out-of-the-world pork chop which not anyone can easily replicate, not even my own grandma! It permeates with flavour of spices that is expertly worked into the meat and yet not overwhelming.

The meat rolls or ngoh hiong, is a rolled over beancurb skin, and I suspect deep fried with a coat of egg over it. It is one of the most satisfying ngoh hiong, most home-tasting ngoh hiong ever! Although admittedly my grandma’s is certainly better, but this is a close second. Ngoh hiong is definitely something that I would like to learn how to make.

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice CabbageCabbage

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Tau PokTau Pok

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice French BeansFrench Beans

Other than their meat dishes, their veggies are very good too. In normal circumstances, I would not have ordered cabbage with my economical or mixed-rice, however the cabbage here are cooked so well that it goes well with the curry as you just need to chew effortlessly. Oh well, anything goes well with their curry anyways.

The tau pok is here also taste special because it has a heavier and not airy like what my mum gets from the market. There is more bite from it and quite chewy. The tau pok is drizzled with their black braised sauce that lends it an extra flavor.

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Curry SauceCurry Sauce

The magic of their curry is that it is a special concoction of herbs and spices. In your plate of rice, you will notice that the sauce are doubled layered. One is the braised black sauce and the other is the curry. It is this potent combination that creates the distinctive flavour that makes everyone crave for more! If you don’t like spicy, you can do away with the curry. I’ll bet it’s just as good.

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Mixed RiceSingle Person Portion

That is how it looks like, your plate of “economical rice” from the store in individual portion. A single person portion usually works out to be about $6. Not so economical, but definitely very good. This plate of curry rice comes with the braised pork belly which is not excessively fatty. This is the black pork to be had!

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Meledy

A table full of what we ordered for four. This is a little ambitious and it cost $27 for four person. Actually we can do with a lesser order as they are very generous with their portion. Although not exactly economical. But I can assure that if you are a curry rice fan you will find this very satisfying.

Beach Road Scissor-Cut Curry Rice Stall

I have very fond memories of this scissor-cut curry rice because since young, my father will occasionally pack this for us. It’s really a treat because usually we just eat what my mother prepares at home. Don’t get me wrong, my mum is a very good cook, but as a kid won’t you like something different?

The store attracts long queues at different times of the day. However there is enough seating as they have a shophouse next door to cater to additional seating capacity. Actually this curry rice taste just as good eaten as a takeaway. I will ask to drown my rice with more gravy as I’m the type who likes my rice wet with sauce.

I strongly recommend to have a try of this traditional flavor. As far as I remember, this store never disappoint and taste just as good as some 20 years ago.

Beach Road Scissors Curry Rice (美芝律剪刀咖喱饭)
229 Jalan Besar
Singapore 208905
Tel: 6292 3593
Opening Hours:
Monday – Sunday: 11am – 3.30am

Comments»

1. Butter Studio @ Jalan Besar (Lavender) | Thoughts on Air - May 24, 2014

[…] time when I head to my favourite curry-rice store at Jalan Besar for my craving fix, I would head to Butter Studio after that for dessert or […]


Leave a Reply

