jump to navigation

Oh Deli @ East Coast Road August 2, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in cafe, food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Oh Deli

When my BFF says “I’ve got car for the weeked!”, it got me quite excited.  Would be thinking of going to Riders Cafe or Spruce at Bukit Timah – you know, really far away destination from the East, and unreachable by MRT.  But we ended up at Oh Deli at East Coast Road.  I can’t help feeling a little disappointed, but I sparkled up when I arrived at the destination and saw what I saw.

Oh Deli - Communal Table

Basically, Oh Deli is not just a cafe.  In fact it is a grocer and butchery (if I may call that) because they sell quite a variety of fresh chilled meat, sausages and hams.  In their cold case, there are many types of cheese from you to select.  Let me start with our breakfast order for the day.

Oh Deli - English BreakfastEnglish Breakfast ($12.90)

BFF has the English Breakfast with a sunny side up organic egg, kurobuta bacon, english pork gourmet sausage, and grilled roma tomato.  It was served with a sourdough toast that was served on the side with butter and jam.  I must say it is quite a spread.

Oh Deli - Sourdough BreadSourdough Toast ($1.00)

Extra sourdough toast goes at $1 per piece.  You can have additional grilled roma tomato ($2), organic egg ($2.50), kurobuta bacon ($3) and gourmet sausage ($4) at an additional cost.  That makes quite a flexible breakfast isn’t it?

Oh Deli - Poached Egg OrganicPoached Egg ($5.90)

I had a poached organic egg on sourdough bread with chopped roma tomato and italian parsley, drizzled with 2 types of Olio Bello EVOO.  I must say it is a very light and refreshing order.  The egg was well executed with a runny egg yolk just the way I like it.

Oh Deli - Chicken Avocado Sandwich with baconChicken Avocado Sandwich ($6.50)

You know me, a poached egg is definitely not enough for me.  So I also had a chicken avocado sandwich.  Oh my!  This sandwich is really awesome because it has got so much greens in it.  These are actually fresh Australian salad!  The tasty sandwich is smeared with a generous amount of mashed avocado on multigrain bread with corainder and lime aioli.  This is then topped with Provolone cheese, onion and roma tomatoes.  I added extra bacon for $1.50.  Do not underestimate this sandwich because it makes me very full.  In fact, I think my friends are green with envy when they saw my order.  BFF says she may order this the next time she comes.

Oh Deli - Sausage PlatterSausage Platter ($12.90)

BFF partner had the sausage platter with choice of 2 sausages from the butchery served with in-house fresh green Australian Salad.  He choose a lamb and beef sausage (since BFF has a pork one) so can try different kind of meat.

Oh Deli - Hot ChocolateHot Chocolate ($4.50)

Oh Deli - Flat WhiteFlat White ($3.80)

BFF has the Hot Chocolate while her partner has a Flat White ($3.80). BFF thinks that the hot chocolate was good, and quite value for money.  We instantly compared the price with Penny University cafe opposite and thought the price is much cheaper!  However I reckon the deli lacks the appeal of a cafe.  Certainly it is right, otherwise it wouldn’t have been called a Deli for nothing.  Although the flat white picture doesn’t seem to look too appetizing, however BFF partner thinks that it is very good.   This prompted me to order a latte to try.  I didn’t want to initially because i was very full from my breakfast of sandwich and poached eggs.

Oh Deli - Caffe LatterCaffe Latte ($3.80)

So I had the caffe latte which was rich and good.  The coffee borders a little on the bitter side but I would think it makes a good “wake me up” coffee.  I quite like the taste.

This wraps up my visit at Oh Deli.  I actually like the place alot,  The place makes me feel very welcome, and Patsy who is one of the co-owner of the Deli was very friendly and chit chatted with us.  She introduced some cheese for BFF to try the next time.  I would love to have some of their meat from the butchery cooked for me at the Deli.  I think this will be really interesting.  I am so looking forward to it.

Oh Deli
421 East Coast Road
#04-21 Wisma Atria
Singapore 429008
Tel: +65 6440 4409
Opening Hours:
Tuesday to Sunday: 8.00am to 9.00pm.
(including public holidays, unless otherwise stated)
Closed on Monday.

Comments»

1. 365days2play - August 6, 2013

I would definitely love to visit Oh Deli for dinner to try out the sausages. Your sandwich was really a steal of the century!

2. Common Man Roasters @ Martin Road (Robertson Quay) | Thoughts on Air - December 4, 2013

[…] Oh Deli @ East Coast Road […]


Leave a Reply

