jump to navigation

Hyang To Gol Korean Restaurant @ Amara Hotel (Tanjong Pagar) July 2, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, singapore.
Tags: ,
trackback

???????????????????????????????

I remember once upon a time, it is not easy to find a Korean restaurant in Singapore.  But these days, more are sprouting out.  The reason why Korean food are not as popular compared to the other cuisines are perhaps because they lack in terms of variety.  What are typical Korean dishes if you ask me?  Korean BBQ meats, hot soup with some kimchi variety, and pancakes.  Oh let’s not forget about Ginseng Soup! Korean restaurants offer rice and noodles but quite unlike what the Japanese has to offer.

???????????????????????????????marinated spinach

???????????????????????????????coleslaw

???????????????????????????????kimchi flavoured cabbage

???????????????????????????????marinated cucumber

One of the most exciting thing is to sample all the small dishes.  Above are the complimentary side dishes that Hyang To Gol offers.  It wasn’t really very exciting if you asked me as it is quite a regular fare.  Do you almost expect some complimentary side dishes when you dine in a Korean restaurant?  I do.  So was a little perturbed when they were really slow in serving them.

???????????????????????????????mashed potatoes; limited edition

I am quite a carb’er.  Means I need carbohydrates in my diet.  So I do like the mashed potatoes even though it taste a tad dry.  The mashed potatoes looks very pretty, but just too small a piece as I could easily finish one on my own.  I asked several times for this mashed potatoes and was met with a curt reply telling me that they produced very little so gonna check if it is still available in the kitchen.  Well, this petite size mashed potatoes must be hugely popular with its patron.  Who asked that it is so pretty.

???????????????????????????????kimchi

I wondered what are the differences between the kimchi (pictured above), versus the one that is seasoned with kimchi flavouring.  I wish someone could tell me more of what I am eating.  Sometimes the best culinary experience is when you go overseas.  I remember I was told how to eat a sushi properly while on tour in Japan.  Maybe it is time to visit Seoul.

???????????????????????????????Veggies ($6)

For most of the Korean restaurants I go to, usually the vegetables that you consume with the BBQ meats comes complimentary.  At Hyang To Gol, you actually have to pay $6 for them.  The waiter asked if we wanted rice or the veggies.  We opted for veggies even though we got to pay for it.  Turn out the portion was not very adequate, but if we order another one would be too much.

???????????????????????????????Beef ($30)

???????????????????????????????

One thing about having Korean BBQ is that there is always someone who will do the job for you.  I remember my first Korean BBQ experience in a restaurant, I felt so queer that someone is standing in the way of our conversation.  Was momentarily silent for a while until we all got used to it.  I guess if you want to say some secret stuff, a Korean restaurant will not be an ideal place.  Or maybe don’t order BBQ meat.

???????????????????????????????Pork Ribs ($30)

???????????????????????????????

Comparing the beef to the pork, I much prefer the beef.  Maybe because the cut of the beef is thicker, so it goes very well when you wrapped it around with the lettuce.  In the menu, there will be several different cuts of meat, and mostly cost between $16-$40.  I can’t really tell the difference so end up we just asked what’s popular and what’s good.

???????????????????????????????Hot Pot with Dumplings ($20)

Finally we finished off the meal with a super hot-pot.  Actually after the two BBQ meats, the three of us were already 80% full.  Would have much prefer if they have the hot-pot cooked on the side (as in some restaurants) do.  This is so that as we have the meat, we can also have all the veggies goodness inside the soup.  Despite being full, we found the soup quite tasty.

Conclusion:

Hyang To Gol is probably not one place I would return to.  I wouldn’t recommend my friends to go there all the way.  I really find them lacking in terms of service, despite the fact that it is located within a hotel.  When I speak English, one of the chinese waitress actually gave me a blank look and asked if I could speak chinese.  I know that there are some Korean or Korean speaking staff in the restaurants specifically to serve the Korean customers, but I found the waitress quite rude, especially the way she demanded that I used Chinese to conversed with her.  Now that I further recall the entire experience, I think I hardly encounter any smiling serving staff.  When I met with a situation like this, I will wonder if we ordered too little.  Our meal for three costs about $110, which I find quite average.  I can’t imagine myself having to order more as we were full at the end of the dinner.

Even so, the restaurant is hugely popular.  Do call for a reservation if you want a seat especially for dinner.

Hyang To Gol 향토골
165 Tanjong Pagar Road
#02-00 Amara Hotel
Singapore 088539
Tel: +65 6220 7160
Opening Hours:
Lunch: 11.30am to 5.00pm
Dinner: 6.00pm to 10.30pm
Open Daily. Please call for reservations.

Check out my other Korean Eats post:

E!GHT Korean BBQ @ The Central (Clarke Quay)

Ssikkek Korean Grill BBQ @ Tampines 1

Bornga Korean Restaurant at Star Vista (Buona Vista)

Hangoga Grill Korean Restaurant at Marina Bay Sands

Comments»

1. Ssikkek Korean Grill BBQ @ Tampines 1 | Thoughts on Air - July 26, 2013

[…] Hyang To Gol Korean BBQ Restaurants @ Amara Hotel […]

2. Apple Reyes - August 5, 2013

Hi can i ask how to change the tel number in hyang to gol korean restaurant because the new number is 6220 7160 the old one is not connected thanks.

gurkhason - August 5, 2013

Thanks for highlighting this to me. I have just edited the phone number! 🙂

3. Apple Reyes - August 5, 2013

Thank you very much sir.

4. Bornga Korean Restaurant at The Star Vista | Thoughts on Air - August 9, 2013

[…] Hyang To Gol Korean Restaurant @ Amara Hotel (Tanjong Pagar) […]

5. Hangoga Grill – Korea Eats | Thoughts on Air - August 9, 2013

[…] Hyang To Gol Korean Restaurant @ Amara Hotel (Tanjong Pagar) […]

6. Ju Shin Jung Korean BBQ Restaurant @ East Coast Park | Thoughts on Air - August 15, 2013

[…] Hyang To Gol Korean Restaurant @ Amara Hotel (Tanjong Pagar) […]

7. Daidomon Japanese BBQ @ Keypoint Building (Beach Road) | Thoughts on Air - December 14, 2013

[…] Hyang To Gol Korean Restaurant @ Amara Hotel (Tanjong Pagar) […]

8. coffee luwak - March 7, 2014

Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine
but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other
then that, superb blog!

9. southkorea - September 15, 2014

Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely
digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

10. A Cure For Spider Veins is in This Medical Centre - September 20, 2014

It’s awesome in support of me to have a website, which is
beneficial designed for my knowledge. thanks
admin

11. visit - November 5, 2015

visit

Hyang To Gol Korean Restaurant @ Amara Hotel (Tanjong Pagar) | Thoughts on Air


Leave a Reply

