jump to navigation

Ichiban Boshi @ Takashimaya, Ngee Ann City June 24, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, singapore.
Tags:
trackback

Last week after work, my female colleagues decided to go to town area for some Great Singapore Sale shopping.  So I tagged along because I was heading towards the gym in town.   We wanted a light snack, but we ended up at Ichiban Boshi at Takashimaya.  Ichiban Boshi is located on the 2nd floor where the taxi stand is.  If you have not already know Sushi Tei is no longer there, so Ichiban Boshi replaces on its original site.  Japanese food is probably one of the more popular cuisine in Singapore and many malls have them.  Ichiban is probably not one of the “usual suspects” but they do have 10 stores islandwide, including the new shopping mall JEM.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????Unagi Chirashi Don ($20.90)#

I could not resist the DBS Takashimaya card promotion for this unagi rice bowl usual price at $30.90.  I am a big fan of unagi and it isn’t easy to find a place that serves a good one that doesn’t have those prickly bones as you bite into the fish.  For the promotional price, you get two big slabs of unagi one by itself (pictured above) and one on the rice bowl, together with miso soup and some radish pickles.  It goes without saying that the unagi is soft and very well smeared with sweet basting sauce.  Really a delight and something worth coming back for.

???????????????????????????????Chicken Nanban ($18.90)

My colleague had this bento set which consists of a fresh salmon sashimi, soft shell crab and fried chicken.  I have tried the fried chicken and it is very tasty.  Fried to the right crispiness on the outside yet tender and juicy inside.  I will want to order this set the next time as I find it very value for money; even though I may not like soft shell crab that much.

???????????????????????????????

A substantial portion of Soft Shell Crab

???????????????????????????????4 pieces of fresh salmon sashimi

???????????????????????????????The tender, juicy chicken I talk about.

???????????????????????????????Beef Teridon ($11.90)

The girls shared a bowl of this stirred fried beef rice bow.  It taste just as yummy as it look.  Like that it has got some veggies with the sliced beef.  But of course that is not all that they order.

 ???????????????????????????????Kajiki Sashimi ($9.90)

For the uninitiated, the swordfish is actually more tasty than salmon.  I remember that when I first had salmon, I liken it to rolling a tongue in my mouth.  It took me a while before I venture into other fishes, particularly swordfish which comes in a white and pale pink color.  I remember when I first had it, I didn’t quite think it as a fish because it has the texture of melon and very juicy.  How could meat taste like this?  It is full when you bite and chew on it.  Since then, there is no turning back and swordfish is my choice sashimi if you ask me.  But not all places serve them real fresh.  The one I had at Ichiban Boshi is bursting with freshness.

???????????????????????????????Coloured Plates ($2.40) each

This tasted like chicken, have to confirm with my colleague.

???????????????????????????????Torched tuna with garnishing.

???????????????????????????????Fiery chilli padi on salmon and japanese cucumber.

These are all the pictures we had.  Although my receipt showed 5 colored plates, but I only had 3 pictures.  I am not sure if we were over charge, maybe I should ask my friend if they could recollect if we had more.  Overall bill is $92.28 for four person for a very hearty Japanese meal.  Definitely worth coming back again.

For those who like Unagi, remember to check out their promotion if you have the DBS Takashimaya card, and enjoy the promotion while it last.

Ichiban Boshi
391A Orchard Road
#02-13 Ngee Ann City
Singapore 486038
Contact Number: 6735 1316
Opening hours: 11am to 10pm (last order at 9.30pm)

#20 May – 31 July 2013. Dine-in only. Only valid at Ichiban Boshi at #02-13 Ngee Ann City. Prices are subject to service charge and government tax.

Please click on to see other 9 locations for Ichiban Bonshi!

Great World City #B1-07
1 Kim Seng Promenade
Tel: 6734 3433
Mon to Sat: 11.30am -10.00pm
Sun: 11.00am -10.00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

Novena Square #02-13/14
238 Thomson Road
Tel: 6255 7767
Daily: 11.30am -10.00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

Parkway Parade #02-12/12A
Marine Parade Road
Tel: 6342 1013
Daily: 11.00am -10.00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

The Centrepoint #01-49/52
176, Orchard Road
Tel: 6737 7232
Mon-Fri: 11:30am-10:00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)
Sat: 11:00am-10:30pm
(Last order: 10.00pm)
Sun: 11:00am-10:00pm

#B2-14/15 Marina Bay Link Mall
8A Marina Boulevard
Tel: 6834 3771
Daily: 11:30am -10:00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

#B1-04 nex
23 Serangoon Central
Tel: 6634 0128
Daily: 11:00am -10:00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

#05-06/07 Causeway Point
1 Woodlands Square
Tel: 6893 6338
Daily: 11:00am – 10:00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

#B2-07/09 VivoCity
1 Harbour Front Walk
Tel: 6376 8318
Daily: 11:30am – 10:00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

#B1-01 JEM
50 Jurong Gateway Road
Tel: 6659 6186
Daily: 11:00am – 10:00pm
(Last order: 9.30pm)

Comments»

1. mysketchbookproject - June 25, 2013

I am so glad i found ur blog! I just moved to Singapore earlier this year and your blog is such a treasure trove of places to eat at! LOVE it!

gurkhason - June 25, 2013

Thanks for visiting my blog. Your site is very lovely. The sketches are all so nice. I will be sure to share it with my friends. Cheers.

2. Koh Grill & Sushi Bar @ Food Republic, Wisma Atria | Thoughts on Air - July 31, 2013

[…] Ichiban Boshi @ Takashimaya, Ngee Ann City […]

3. shian - August 30, 2015

can use re & s voucher


Leave a Reply

