jump to navigation

Hungry Chimps @ Prinsep Street June 1, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, photos, singapore.
trackback

???????????????????????????????

I was near the Bras Basah area and was aghast that there are very few cafes despite the fact that there are so many museums nearby.  Since I started being more active up and about my blog, I wanted to bring out more unique places to go to, rather than the usual suspects. So despite being under the hot and scorching sun, I found for you:  Hungry Chimps @ Prinsep Street.

???????????????????????????????

Hungry Chimps is a bistro that served quite a comprehensive menu.  It is situated at the second floor of the shop house and although the signage is conspicuous enough, but it takes a little more venture to actually past through its door and walk up the flight of stairs.

???????????????????????????????

I love the whole atmosphere about the place.  Be it the chimps pictures that is hanging on almost every wall (reinforcing the hungry chimps image?) or the parquet flooring, the nice wallpaper or the cute little corner for little chimps (kids!) as you walk up the stairs.  The place is fun, cheery and makes one really light-hearted.

???????????????????????????????

Hungry Chimps provides “comfort food for modern monkey”.  I wonder what that really means?  But my friend screams “Bananas!”.  But what does chimps eats beside bananas, or peanuts?  Are they vegetarian?

So I googled…. and turn out the monkey diet is quite simple indeed which includes fruits, leaves, flowers, insects, eggs and small reptiles!

Why then do human eat so much?  Makes me wonder again….

???????????????????????????????

I ordered a set lunch that is so cheap I can faint.  $7.90 for a pork chop set lunch that comes with juice, coffee or tea.  I choose a mango juice that is refreshing from the hot weather.  I treated some to the cheeky chimp that keeps sticking out its tongue.

???????????????????????????????

Two slabs of pork chop, wrinkled cut fries and coleslaw.  (You can have butter rice if you want).  I still can’t believe it is $7.90 for the set menu in town area!  What a steal, this is like food court price.  As there were very few patrons when I had my lunch, I wondered why are there so few people?  I would assume that alot of SMU undergraduates or SOTA students would hound the place.

???????????????????????????????

This is a happy place with cheery ambience and a cute chalkboard of its menu.  All day breakfast is available too.  I should come some day to do all day breakfast here.  Apparently, Hungry Chimps stay hungry through the night and operate till late, that is 3am.

Let’s go Yum, Slurp, and Burp at Hungry Chimps soon!

Hungry Chimps
64A Prinsep Street
Singapore 188667
Tel: 6338 1389
Opening Hours:
Sun-Thurs: 11.30am – 9.30pm
Fri-Sat: 11.30am – 3.00am

Comments»

1. seafood - July 8, 2014

always i used to read smaller articles which
as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which I am reading now.

2. Top City Hall & Jalan Basar Cafes - Best Downtown Cafes in Singapore | AspirantSG - Food, Travel, Lifestyle & Social Media - August 23, 2014

[…] READ MORE […]

3. MMA workouts for women - September 6, 2014

I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!


Leave a Reply

