jump to navigation

Ramen Keisuke Tori King @ Tras Street (Amara Shopping Centre) May 26, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, singapore.
trackback

???????????????????????????????

When I was first introduced to Ramen Keisuke Tori King at Amara Shopping Centre, it got stuck in my mind. Having Japanese ramen isn’t exactly my kind of thing but there’s just this unexplainable attraction this place has. Maybe because of the cosy ambience, maybe the good broth of the ramen, or did I like the free flow complimentary hard-boiled eggs and bean sprouts?

???????????????????????????????

Once you enter the premise, you will be greeted by a buzz in the shop.  In the centre is this huge bench table where people busily tucked away at their noodles.  Do you remember that I mentioned I love long bench table in my previous blog? Does it bother you to be sitting next to a stranger or opposite to you while you eat?  For me, I quite enjoy the experience of communal dining.  But maybe because when I eat I tend to be able to space out; and not care about what’s really going on around me.  It is fun to watch people and not care about them watching me.

???????????????????????????????

Love this handwritten note.  They have other handwritten notes at the table which makes the place very personalised, giving it a special touch.  The note really captures my attention and it is fun just looking at it.  Look at the handwriting – does it feel happy to you?  I really like it.

???????????????????????????????Tori King Ramen Special (All Toppings) $15.90

I had the Tori King Ramen Special which has all the toppings: Japanese seaweed, flavoured eggs, pork and black fungus.  In the ordering chit, you can choose the taste of the soup, amount of chicken oil and noodle texture.  It is no surprise to taste such a wonderfully rich soup that has a thick broth to boot and I even lick the spoon when I am finished.  Apparently the soup claims to be very rich in collagen that makes your skin brightens and glow the next day.

???????????????????????????????

I dished out the chicken leg and eggs to make easy eating of the ramen.  Look at just how huge the chicken leg is.  It is very soft, tender and juicy.  Such a decadent indulgence.  The flavoured eggs has a soft and runny yolk that’s done to the way I like.  Looking at this picture keeps begging the philosophical question:  Egg or Chicken first?

???????????????????????????????Black Spicy Tori King Ramen with Flavored Egg ($14.90)

My BFF had this.  If she chose all the toppings, it would have been $16.90.  As for her verdict, she didn’t quite like the black spicy version because she claimed that it is very oily.  She scooped out a lot of oil even though she choose “normal” which is the authentic Japan taste.  I tried some of the broth and thought it is lovely.

???????????????????????????????

To make the shop more interesting, there are many signage, comics and notices plastered all around the shop.  All the Japanese characters make the whole ambience more rustic and authentic.  Clearly, a lot of effort goes into making transporting to an imaginary Japan settings.  A restaurant is not just about its food but also creativity in creating a great ambience to add to a wholesome dining experience.

Tori King have another outlet with pork as a speciality at Orchid Hotel, also near to Tanjong Pagar MRT.  Can’t wait to try it out.

Ramen Keisuke Tori King @ Tras Street 
100 Tras Street #03-15
Amara Shopping Centre
Singapore
Tel: +65 6604 6861
Open Daily: 11.30am to 10pm

Comments»

1. 365days2play - May 26, 2013

I don’t really like communal dining tables, as I feel it is a ploy on the Restaurant’s part to stuff more people in. Having said that, because there are so many containers and stuff blocking the view of the people on the opposite side, it kinda felt quite cosy. Until the lady on the right splashed soup on my sleeve!

2. Ramen Kagetsu Arashi @ Tampines 1 | Thoughts on Air - July 25, 2013

[…] 0335 Opening Hours: Open Daily: 11.30am to 9.30pm Related Post: Genki Sushi @ Orchard Central Ramen Keisuke Tori King @ Tras Street (Amara Shopping Centre) Danro Japanese Hot Pot @ nex, Serangoon […]


Leave a Reply

