jump to navigation

A for Antoinette @ Mandarin Gallery May 14, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in cafe, food.
trackback

A for Antoinette.  I wish I could start an A-Z food blog, that would be really interesting to find restaurants, cafes, bistro, bar, pubs and start blogging about them. OK set then, that should be my ambitious blog project!  This going to make my blogging to be more focus, fun and meaningful.

Back to Antoinette.   Each time I passed by, I felt that the restaurant is very upclass with its very posh furniture.  It also look sophisticated and very girly at the same time.  So I would imagine Audrey Hepburn sipping tea and having breakfast there.

Not to miss out a piece of action, I asked two of my (girl)friends for breakfast at Antoinette at Mandarin Gallery.  The place has got very few seating so although we are probably #3 in the queue but we waited for a good 40 minutes before we were showed to a seat that was rather uncomfortable.  We put up for a while and hesistated with our orders until another group of guest left and went and we changed to a better seat.

???????????????????????????????Antoinette Big Breakfast ($22)

???????????????????????????????Pastry

???????????????????????????????Hot Chocolate

After 40 minutes of queuing, I have turned a very hungry man.  So I ordered the Antoinette Big Breakfast which comes with choice of egg (pay extra for poached), grilled bacon and sausage and Pain de Mie toast.  You can see this breakfast is B.I.G. indeed because it comes with the pastry and hot chocolate (or orange juice).   It is a very satisfying breakfast.

???????????????????????????????Burger Antoinette

My friend had the Burger Antoinette, which comes with the delectable pan-fried apple and chicken leg patty, pommery mustard mayonnaise, butter lettuce, onion chutney, plump tomato, chips and petit salad with house dressing.  I have tried the pan-fried apple and chicken leg patty which is flavourful and juicy.  I would have gladly exchanged my order with this.  The chips were special also, I wonder if they are “home-made”.

???????????????????????????????Brittany Savoury Crepe

This savoury crepe is a nice order that has the crepe and savoury served seperately.  Inside is a pot of seafood delight of scallop, prawns and mussels sauteed with white wine and cream, perfumed with aromatics.   The crepe is pictured below with some green leaves.  I couldn’t really appreciate this crepe because it is quite messy to eat this.

???????????????????????????????

My overall experience at Antoinette is pleasant.  It is quite relaxing inside but I still grudge the long wait at the queue; but well; when one is willing one can’t complain much.  The food taste pretty dainty to me and isn’t too pricey as I thought it will be considering the ambience and the setting of the restaurant.  My next visit, I probably go to the flagship store at Penhas Road (off Lavender Street) for a different experience.

Antoinette @ Mandarin Gallery
333A Orchard Road
#02-33/34 Mandarin Gallery
Singapore 238897
Tel: +65 6781-1820
Open Daily: 11am to 10pm

Comments»

1. Recipes Bistro by SHATEC @ Treasury Building | Thoughts on Air - May 20, 2013

[…] delightful dessert is created by Chef Pang who incidentally is the owner of Antoinette, a chic cafe with several joints in Singapore.  This dessert though not exquisite but is […]


Leave a Reply

