jump to navigation

Breakfast at Boomarang Bistro and Bar @ Robertson Quay April 25, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food, photos, singapore.
trackback

???????????????????????????????

Boomarang.  Do you know that it is one of the symbol of Australia? I didn’t really know that as a fact.  So when I was walking along Robertson Quay on a weekend and looking for a place to chill and have breakfast/brunch, I chance upon Boomarang Bistro & Bar.  It was very spacious and huge.  A lot of foreigners with children in tow seems to be having a ball of time.  When I saw Boomarang, I instinctively thought of Australia.  This really comes from my subconcious as Australian theme restaurant are but a few in Singapore.

???????????????????????????????

As I mentioned, it was a good weekend crowd.  The whole place is mostly outdoor, maybe that’s to cater to the foreigner crowd who seem to prefer alfresco dining style despite the hot and humid weather we have here.  However, the place has many fan so turn out you have bright sunshine and yet windy from the spining blades of the fan.

???????????????????????????????

When I saw the menu, I picked Pan Fried Meatloaf $15 immediately.  I am a huge fan of meatloaf.  Ever since having the best meatloaf at The American Club in Singapore more than 10 years ago, I have never had better meatloaf.  The verdict: meatloaf was tasty; packed with well marinated beef and pork.  A pity though it is a tad dry, maybe caused the meat are lean and not fatty.  Probably would have been better if it is drizzled with some cream or sauce.  However, for the price, it is packed with great value of two fried eggs served sunny side up, and really big, juicy and delightful roma tomatoes and a side of mesculin greens.

???????????????????????????????

My friend wanted to pick Buttermilk Pancakes ($12) but I stopped him.  Because pancakes are so easy to make at home.  So he choose Open Face Melt ($12) with Roasted Chicken, Avocado, Mayonnaise and Cheddar.  Well, the name says it all.  You can have a choice of toast with the open face sandwich and the same side of mesculin greens I had.  Look pretty tasty although I never had a try.

???????????????????????????????

We also shared a serving of Corn Cakes ($12).  They are essentially pancake with sweet corn served with a dressing of tomato onion relish and mango sour cream.  It was served with my favourite rocket leaves.  There are three large pieces of corn cake which goes pretty well with the dressing.

???????????????????????????????

The indoor area of the Boomarang Bistro & Bar is also very open, airy and spacious.  They have big TV screens that are playing sports channels.  Probably will be a good chillout place for bar or soccer time!  They have good variety in their breakfast menu and value for money too.  I can’t wait to return to try some of their other items with unique Australian theme name.  What would you think “Bondi” will be?  If you are keen, their breakfast timing are below.

Boomarang Bistro & Bar
60 Robertson Quay
Singapore 238252
Tel: +65 67381077
Monday – Friday: 7am to 11.30am
Saturday – Sunday: 7am to 5pm (including public holidays)

Comments»

1. Toby’s Estate @ Rodyk Street (Robertson Quay) | Thoughts on Air - February 23, 2014

[…] Estate through my friend’s blog.  I had wanted to visit Toby’s but ended up at Boombarang and Kith Café instead because it is always crowded.  Toby’s Estate is a true blue […]


Leave a comment