jump to navigation

Chock Full of Beans at Changi Village January 28, 2013

Posted by gurkhason in food.
trackback

Changi Village is a very quaint and out-of-the-world part of Singapore. The reason is because even from the nearest town Pasir Ris, it takes at least a 10 minutes drive to get there. Lately there’s a buzz of eateries opened there and Chock Full of Beans is one of them.

O

As with any cafe establishment, chock full of beans serve milk based coffee like latte. I thought perhaps their coffee may taste special but its quite ordinary. However I’m certainly impressed by their coffee art. The best I’ve seen so far. We have no problem to decipher a piggy and a.smiley cat in our midst. 2 thumbs up!

O

Full day breakfast has been gaining popularity since I don’t know when. I have always been a huge fan of eggs. Fried, sunny side up, or scrambled. Only of late that I have poached eggs. I don’t know the significance of it all, but they taste alright especially the runny yolks and hollandise sauce, the common accompaniment with poached eggs.

O

My friend had the Eggs Benedict ($12), the most common version for poached eggs breakfast with ham. I told my friend that I like that the eggs does not have a sour vinegar taste. Yes, some places I’m sure used vinegar to poach their eggs.

O

I had the poach eggs with portobello mushrooms ($12). I was very WOWed by it because I think it tasted very good. The multi grain toast which is a good thick chunk blends well with the taste of the portobello mushroom that sits above it. This has got to be one of the best combination I ever had. Now the bar is set high. Plus for $12 is very value for money.

O

Just like the quaint old Changi Village, Chock Full of Beans is a warm cosy cafe that is situated on the corner of the shop house just behind the food centre. Don’t be fooled though it can get pretty crowded even at 3pm. The last time I was there is operating at full capacity!

There are outdoor sitting under its shady canopy. Really a good place to chill for weekend away from the buzz of city. I’m planning a return trip already!

 

Comments»

1. Penny University Artisanal Cafe @ East Coast Road | Thoughts on Air - May 29, 2013

[…] The coffee-house serve two blends of beans.  When I was there, they had “X” which is a sweet, blackcurrant syrupy body.  The other is “Elprimero” which has tropical fruits, bright taste.  I am not so much a connoisseur of coffee but making a good coffee is just about a science as much as an art.  The coffee art shown above, is probably the easiest and most boring coffee art after.  *yawnz*.  My favourite coffee art is here. […]

2. small blender - August 17, 2013

Ahaa, its fastidious discussion about this paragraph here at this website,
I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this
place.

3. Common Man Roasters @ Martin Road (Robertson Quay) | Thoughts on Air - December 4, 2013

[…] Chock Full of Beans @ Changi Village […]

4. lg 32 Led Tv - August 17, 2014

I think this is one of the most significant information for
me. And i am glad reading your article. But should remark
on some general things, The website style is great, the articles is really nice :
D. Good job, cheers


Leave a Reply

