jump to navigation

Singapore Blog Awards 2012 July 21, 2012

Posted by gurkhason in event, singapore.
trackback

My friend Dawn was nominated as a finalist to the omy.sg Singapore Blog Awards 2012 under the Food Blogger category. (Vist her blog 365days2play)  To lend some support to her, I braved the (very) hot and humid weather in my formal work clothes attire attended the event at Singapore Food Trail @ Singapore Flyer.

The theme of the event was Super Hero so we get to see some of the bloggers dressed up as the Super Heroes.  I must say they are very sporting because it was an outdoor event and was pretty damn hot.  I guess I probably do so if I have more friends who will dress up and if it is in an air-conditioned environment.  But I guess I must also have time to get the attire too!

This is the first time I attended the Blog Awards event.  I like the fact that it is pretty casual; just as a blog is.  We were all seated at the tables of the Singapore Food Trail and waiting the annoucement of award winners of the various category of awards.  While waiting we also get to savour some of the local delights like satay bee hoon, fried hokkien mee, rojak and popiah.  It is pretty cool.

I can’t comment much about the various winners of the blog because I didn’t follow their blogs so what was more fun for me was the best dressed awards.  As mentioned we got many people who dressed up in super heros outfit.  Actually my personal favourite has to be the super mario girl on the picture above (far right).  But anyway, here are some of the final contestants.

Posion Ivy.  I must say she really stood out from the rest of the contestants with her outfit.  Not only she is daring in how she is dressed to the theme – she has a really mean voice too and partake in singing one of my current favourite Lady Gaga song – The Edge of Glory before the awards proper commences.

Batman Returns.  This man is a truly dark knight.  Would have been better if he wore contact lenses though

How do you like this Cat Woman?  She actually has a hidden tail behind.  She’s pretty sweet and cute and I would have vote for her with that regards.

What is this man dressed as I couldn’t quite figure.  But his weapon sure can kill.

How about Poker Face?  I am surprised his make up didn’t melt under the hot sun.

And finally the last woman who showed pretty good attitude and poses for the camera.

Who would you have voted for the best dressed award?

Finally, all bloggers are given a ticket to get on a Singapore Flyer.  I love to be on the Flyer and I will save my experience in the next post.

I had a great time at the Singapore Blog Awards 2012.  Hopefully some day I will be able to contest as a finalist in the Singapore most coveted blogger awards too!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

