jump to navigation

Love at First Light – NDP Theme Song 2012 July 15, 2012

Posted by gurkhason in nature, singapore.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Most of us should have heard the latest NDP Theme Song.  This year’s theme song is “Love at First Light” that is sang by Olivia Ong, one of my favourite artisit.  I first caught the angelic voice of Olivia at Gramophone when they played from her album “Kiss In the Air” and bought the CD in an instant.  Later, I was mesmerize by the theme song of a Medicorp production “The Little Nonya”; not only by the crisp vocal but also how the song was interpretated.  I didn’t realise only later that it was by the same Olivia whose voice so captivated me.

Although sang by one of my favourite artist, this year’s theme song doesn’t quite resonate with me.  I guess I still belong to that genre of Singaporean who recognises that we are a young country and we still have some way to go before really celebrating our successes.  During our National Day, I like to look back to the past and see how we compare and measure up and take pride with the success that we have come to realised.  I like the expression that we have many dreams and hope for our nation, and a place we call home – a place where our family and friends are that binds us all together.

I prefer the catchy tunes of past years NDP theme song like last year’s song, I can still remember the catchy pharse “in a heartbeat I’ll be there for you” or 2010 version which urge us to “I want to sing, sing a song for Singapore”.  No doubts it sends me goosebumps, but it kinda of like saying “I love you” to your loved ones.  Listening to the song 10 times and you will be hypnotised to really love your country.

This year’s song doesn’t seem to tell a coherent story and seems disjointled in some places.  I also felt that it is too focused on the young generation as all the leading artists are young people.  Where are the older folks who contributed to much of our celebrated economic success? I was also baffled how the different people started the day and all end up in Changi Airport hugging their returning friends/relatives. What’s the story?  People are finally returning back to Singapore?

Nonetheless, is still quite a good effort.  I was particularly curious of the beginning part of the video that shows the boardwalk of the reservoir.  Anyone knows this particular location?

Comments»

1. Alessandro,Tange - January 25, 2013

I truly wanted to compose a word to be able to say thanks to you for
some of the great ways you are showing at this site.

My considerable internet investigation has at the end
been honored with good quality strategies to talk about with my
co-workers. I ‘d assert that we site visitors are unequivocally lucky to dwell in a decent network with very many lovely professionals with very beneficial pointers. I feel quite lucky to have encountered your webpage and look forward to plenty of more exciting moments reading here. Thanks once more for everything.

2. Lorenzo,Whitehead - January 25, 2013

Needed to send you one very little observation to be able to thank you very
much once again considering the wonderful principles you
have discussed here. It is simply particularly generous of you to provide
extensively all a number of people would have offered for
an ebook to help make some bucks for their own end, particularly given that
you could possibly have done it in case you desired. The basics as well worked like the good way to fully
grasp other people have a similar interest really like my personal own to know the truth more and more with regard to this condition.
I’m certain there are millions of more enjoyable occasions up front for folks who find out your website.

3. NDP 2013 Theme Song – One Singapore | Thoughts on Air - July 19, 2013

[…] judgement on the song we hear on first pass.  Just like my post on last year’s theme song Love At First Light.  I didn’t quite like it initially but slowly it just grows into me and so much so that I […]

4. NDP 2013 Theme Song – One Singapore | Thoughts on Air - July 19, 2013

[…] pass judgement on the song we hear on first pass. Just like my post on last year’s theme song Love At First Light. I didn’t quite like it initially but slowly it just grows into me and so much so that I […]


Leave a Reply

