jump to navigation

BBQ by the Sea @ Sentosa July 14, 2012

Posted by gurkhason in food, play, singapore.
trackback

When was the last time I been to Sentosa?  I pretty much segregate Resort World Sentosa (RWS) from the rest of the Sentosa because they seem to be run by two seperate entities.  There has been a lot of transformation in Sentosa, other than the presence of RWS.  I was rather impressed that they seem to have much more visitors compared to during my time when I was a kid or up till my undergraduate days.  Though even till my adulthood, I still seldom go Sentosa.  I guess it just isn’t quite my playground.

A long stretch of white sandy beach along Siloso.  There’s so much buzz and activity not only at the beach but other parts of the Sentosa Island.  There’s so much to do that I like to come back to Sentosa soon!  That shall be another post.

Anyway, I was invited as a guest by 365days2Play and Eat! to an event hosted by omy.sg : BBQ by the Sea at Siloso beach.  Probably doesn’t sound like the most innovative idea until I actually stepped into the venue.  I was under the impression that it is a casual BBQ like those we do with friends, and for people to get together, however it was a special preview of one of the series of events which Sentosa has planned in celebration of its 40th year anniversary!

Watch the beautiful sun set, the chef starts preparing the BBQ dinner which features rather unique style of barbequing such as the Haiwaiian style underground oven known as “imu” and the vertical grill.

I can’t tell the difference between the taste of a normal BBQ and vertical grill.  Although the vertical grill is unique, however kebabs are cooked this way too.  But the idea to cook it this way is rather unique.

I really enjoyed the seafood platter, especially the mussels.  It was a little spicy to taste but was really lovely.  It would have been great if there is fish in it too.

Another dish which I favour is the Bonito Infused Cod Fish with Garlic Fried Rice.  I like cod fish to begin with and the Bonito adds a special touch to the mild taste cod fish.  The garlic fried rice is also very fragant and I love the bits of garlic garnished in the dish.

I can’t really taste the Tiger beer in the tiger beer baby squid.  All I know is this is a great appetizer that is fried till very crispy.  I like the full citrus flavour very much.

The mano butter crayfish is a delight.  The special sauce adds a special punch to the fresh, succulent crayfish.  I can’t get enough of it!

The dinner ended with a spectacular burst of fireworks from Songs of The Sea – one of the musical fountain performance at Sentosa from afar.  While you can see the pyrotechnics, water jets and burst of fire from afar, but nothing really beats watching the live musical performance.  Available daily at only $15 for premium seats.

The Sentosa BBQ by the Beach is only avilable for a very limited time period only.  Hurry before you miss the great BBQ food and fun time.

Date : 13 – 22 July

Time : 6pm – 12mn (Last order at 10.30pm)

Venue : Siloso Beach (Between COASTES and Azzura Beach Club)

Admission :$29.90++ (includes $30 worth of vouchers redeemable for food and drinks)

There’s so much to do and see at Sentosa; especially with the line up of activities for its 40th anniversary,  so come play!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

